The famous five women are now senators

On October 8, 2012 the Famous Five posthumously became the only Canadians to be appointed honorary senators. We honour them as perhaps the best known Canadian women in history today who fought for our rights!

Referred to as The Famous Five, Emily Murphy, Nellie McClung, Louise McKinney, Irene Parlby, and Henrietta Muir Edwards fought together to change the law.  October 18th, 2012 is the 83th anniversary of Persons Day, the historic day in 1929 when women were finally legally recognized in Canada as “persons” and thus allowed to serve in the Senate. [fusion_builder_container hundred_percent=”yes” overflow=”visible”][fusion_builder_row][fusion_builder_column type=”1_1″ background_position=”left top” background_color=”” border_size=”” border_color=”” border_style=”solid” spacing=”yes” background_image=”” background_repeat=”no-repeat” padding=”” margin_top=”0px” margin_bottom=”0px” class=”” id=”” animation_type=”” animation_speed=”0.3″ animation_direction=”left” hide_on_mobile=”no” center_content=”no” min_height=”none”][Source:]


Share This Story, Choose Your Platform!

Scroll to Top